Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suzintx

Fassett Mossy Radiation Quilt

suzintx
11 years ago

Has anyone done this quilt. Seemed to me a simple undertaking, Until I started piecing it.

I think I am having a weft/warp problem. I am not very good at that and don't usually pay attention. This is the first quilt it seems to be a major issue.

After attaching the first round of Pieced Triangles it is all wonky. It stretches in every direction. When I added on the next border it was obvious that it would never lay flat.

I'm hoping that someone that has done this quilt could PLEASE help
The quilt is in the Kaffee Fassett's Quilt Road book
Thank you for your help

Comments (23)

• tuppermom
    11 years ago

I have made 2 of them and Yes, his directions are very ambiguous. You have to trim back triangle strata at each addition and also square up the top after each addition. You need lots of rulers....I used 2 6.5x24" and a 20" square to help keep it in square.

Here is the first one I made

• tuppermom
    11 years ago

And here is the second one
    I added braided borders to the top and bottom of this one so it would fit a queen size bed.

• geezerfolks_SharonG_FL
    11 years ago

Awesome quilts! I can see how it would be a bear to square without a ton of rulers.

SharonG/FL

• suzintx
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I AM LOOSING MY MIND
    i cannot get this thing right. i have ripped it apart 4 times and tried something different each time.
    i'm missing some basic technique i'm sure
    each time i put on a boarder the whole thing starts to warp.
    PLEASE HELP

• petalpatsy
    10 years ago

I'm probably the last person on the forum who should be offering advice, but if you really are losing your mind....

Have you machine basted the edge of the triangle? Are you putting the border on the bottom against the feed dogs since it's the more stable piece?