Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
missflippins

Another little project done

missflippins
12 years ago

Well, this is my first attempt at free motion. I'm not so happy with the look of the thread I chose, and I sure need a lot more practice on moving the quilt so it's back to a bunch of "sandwiches" again! But, I was pleased that I did have the sewing machine set up for free motion and the tension was good. That in itself was an accomplishment for me.

Comments (8)

• rosajoe_gw
    12 years ago

Looks great to me!!!!

Last summer I was practicing with sandwiches about a placemat size and my tension was getting OK. Then I tried a baby size and it looked horrible.

Tried this week with the placemat size again and it's like I have never practiced before!

I have read a glass of wine helps but I may need several bottles lol!!! My sister suggested moonshine.
    Rosa

• msmeow
    12 years ago

That's a cute little quilt! And I think your first try at FM looks pretty good. It just takes practice, practice, practice!

(I'm afraid to try wine with a moving needle!)

Donna

• luvtosharedivs
    12 years ago

I like the FM meandering design, and I think you did a great job, considering the size of the quilt...baby or lap?

Excellent choice of colors, and I think the thread color is fine...looks to be white, which blends in with the polka dots, and the background of the cute bug squares.

It's just adoreable!

Julie

• geezerfolks_SharonG_FL
    12 years ago

Really cute quilt!

Rosa, Maybe we can get some help at retreat in October. Wouldn't that be awesome????

SharonG/FL

• loisflan
    12 years ago

It's a very sweet little quilt. Free motion takes a long time to learn, and I think you are very brave to try it. I have only done a table runner. It was okay, but all the quilts I've made lately have had a Minky backing, and I haven't had the courage to try FM on them yet. Good job!

• day2day
    12 years ago

That's a cute quilt.