Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msmeow

Some March finishes

msmeow
12 years ago

Yesterday I finished these 4 miniatures for my guild's 2013 quilt show. The lady in charge has challenged us to make one a month. I just started last weekend, but now I'm caught up! :)

Port & starboard - 11-1/2" square

Hovering hawks 12" square

Green & white 17-1/2" square

Calico puzzle 10 x 14

Donna

Comments (15)

• lindaoh_gw
    12 years ago

Beautiful! I want to make some miniatures to hang in my sewing room but it just a dream at this time.
    Linda OH

• K8Orlando
    12 years ago

Donna, you've inspired me! I just found out I'll have this Saturday to myself and instead of working on another project, I'll put that one aside and make a mini (or two) for the guild.

I have planned to make some but I've never done a mini before and am a bit intimidated about starting. Seeing your samples helps give me ideas.

I see that one of yours is 17x17... do we have a size limit or a range? How small is OK? How large? Do we label them or at least sign the back? I didn't find guidelines on the guild pages.

Kate

• msmeow
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Kate, there is a size limit but I'm not sure what it is - seems like I've heard 20" somewhere. I'll have to ask Roberta at the next meeting. I've never signed or labeled them.

Donna

• geezerfolks_SharonG_FL
    12 years ago

Donna, I wish I could think of what to do with HST's and 4-patch squares like you do. Your little quilts would do perfectly! I really like the color combo of Port and Starboard. Good job!

SharonG/FL

• magothyrivergirl
    12 years ago

What do you do with these after the show? Are they donated to raise money for a cause?

We saw some patterns for really teeny blocks in Lancaster.

Very nice work Donna!

• K8Orlando
    12 years ago

Thanks Donna! I'll stick with something around 12" to 15" anyway but was curious if there was a rule.

• sunnycentralfl
    12 years ago

Great work, Donna! They are so pretty!