Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunnycentralfl

QOTD: Scrap quilts..what have you learned from them?

sunnycentralfl
13 years ago

To add to the discussion on Scrap quilts...I was wondering "What have we/I learned from making scrap quilts?"

I just finished the quiltville mystery quilt that started in Oct/Nov. It feels good and I was ready for it to be done, although I have to say working on it bit by bit got me through the holidaze, the quilt show and the on going kitchen remodeling...thank you Bonnie Hunter!

Now, to the QOTD: I learned not all scraps are equal and I do like using up what I have on hand.

Looking forward to your answers!

Gwen

Comments (13)

• K8Orlando
    13 years ago

I'm still learning and still struggling with scrappy. I can do scrappy by color but the total mish-mash of colors and fabrics does not appeal to me. Not everyone likes everything so it may be that I am never going to be a totally scrappy quilter. I like Bonnie Hunter's quilts a lot but it's still the ones that have color themes that appeal to me the most.

I have learned that I should sort my scraps by color and I have every intention of doing that in big glass jars but I haven't done it yet.

Kate

• teresa_nc7
    13 years ago

I've learned that I have a lot of scraps to use up....I mean bags and bins full!

I've learned that I will be happier with the scrap quilt the more fabrics I can use. (Just yesterday I cringed when I saw the same fabric used twice in my beloved Sunny Lanes quilt that is on my bed.....yikes! how did that happen? I thought 40+ fabrics would be enough....NOT!)