Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
green_panther

Forgot to pre-wash my fabric!

green_panther
15 years ago

I'm kinda new to quilting.

I made my hubby a knotted quilt while I was in college, but rushed to finish it and now it is falling apart. I have resewn the ripped blocks multiple times and even diagonally machine stitched the whole thing because the knots are ripping out!

He won't let me remove it from the bed unless I replace it.

So 2 years ago I picked out a pattern & bought the fabric. I have cut all the pieces (12pc per square/145 squares) and started to very carefully piece the blocks together.

NOW I realize I never prewashed the fabric!!! Am I doomed? Will the whole thing shrink and pull with the first wash? Should I just finish piecing and wait to wash the top before putting the layers together?

I really need some guidance on this. I don't want to give him a "rush job" again... he is worth so much more. LOL

Comments (13)

• mary_c_gw
    15 years ago

I never prewash my fabrics. I like them to shrink up a bit, as it makes the quilting a bit puffier.

If you're afraid the quilt will shrink too much, i.e., it won't cover the bed, then add a border to the finished blocks. Washing the top before it is quilted is a recipe for disaster - all those tiny seam allowances will ravel.

If you are machine sewing the squares, make sure you are using a small enough stitch. On my machine the standard stitch length is 2.5. I set it at 2.0 or 1.5.

What quilt pattern are you using? Are you planning to tie again, or machine or hand quilt? We like pictures!

• biwako_of_abi
    15 years ago

Wow! What devotion--from both of you! I don't think you need worry about not having washed the fabric. Some of us here don't do it, either. I usually do, but there are times when I don't.