Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
auntevie

double wedding ring question

auntevie
13 years ago

I would love to make the double wedding ring quilt for my daughter but everywhere I read people say how HARD it is and I am just a beginner (I've made about 3 quilts).

What makes it so hard? Is it the piecing, cutting, or what? Is it doable for a newbie? I have an accuquilt go and if I use the die will it make it alot easier?

Comments (8)

• msmeow
    13 years ago

I think what most people find challenging is the curved piecing. I made a wall hanging DWR many years ago, and I didn't find it difficult at all. The curves are gentle and pretty easy to sew, I thought.

Donna

• auntevie
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks Donna. I know this is probably a stupid question...but can I piece it by machine?

• toolgranny
    13 years ago

The curves are dependent on accuracy. If you are able to have the pieces cut accurately and can sew an accurate seam, you can do it. But you must also put the curves together with solid pieces also curved. Generally starting with a project with straight lines is the best way to learn. If it frustrates you, it leaves a sour taste toward quilting that is undeserved. I'd never make one from scratch myself and I'm rather experienced. I did make one from pieces already together but wouldn't have done it except for a rare situation.

• auntevie
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks for the input! My plan was to make this for my daughter who is getting married at the end of the summer and I thought I would make it for a wedding gift. But even tho I THINK I can do it, it sounds like it would be better if I give myself more time and give it to them for their first year anniversary!

Quilting has become my new love. I lurk on these boards almost everyday so that I can learn more and am amazed at how beautiful all the quilts are. Thanks to everyone who posts pics of their quilts...they are such an inspiration to a new quilter like me!