Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
derlene_gw

Quilting a quilt

Derlene
13 years ago

I'm new at quilting and nearly finish with my first quilt, it's a Trip Around the World quilt, what I would like to know is what is the easiest way to quilt it, stitch in the ditch or what, and if so would I stitch all the seams?

At this time I wouldn't dare trying to free-hand quilting.

Comments (9)

• msmeow
    13 years ago

I made a small Trip Around the World (30" square) a couple of years ago, and I quilted diagonally through the squares. I really like it a lot!

Donna

• Derlene
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Donna, like I said I'm somewhat dumb at this but I need to ask, did you just go diagonally one way?

• jennifer_in_va
    13 years ago

You could go diagonally all in one direction, diagonally in both directions, or even follow the colored pattern and quilt in 'diamonds' around each ring of squares. It's really up to you.

I would suggest that one of these with sewing from one corner to another easier than trying to stitch in the ditch. And depending on the size of your quilt squares, you might not need to quilt through all squares, you might be able to skip a row or two.

diagonally in both directions:
    http://www.crackerhousequilts.com/jeffreyquilt.htm

[Tried to find more examples but have run out of time. Google Images "Trip Around the World" and you'll see more]

• teresa_nc7
    13 years ago

I agree that stitching through the squares on the diagonal is the easiest way to quilt this quilt. Here is my method, others might have a different way of doing the same thing:

~ you want to have some way of keeping your lines straight, either a measure rod that attaches to your walking foot (also called even feed foot - which you need to feed both the top and the bottom evenly while sewing so you don't end up with major puckers on the back)