Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
k8orlando2

QoTD - 1/11/11

K8Orlando
13 years ago

I think we've talked about this before but with so many new members of the forum it might be fun to bring it up again.

How do you organize your fabric? By color, by project, or just whatever fits in the bin?

I am a notoriously messy quilter (and cook!) and although I try to keep fabrics for specific projects together, I'm not very good at organizing the rest of my stash. I'm constantly in awe of the pictures I see in quilt magazines with everything neat and organized by color.

Comments (22)

• rosajoe_gw
    13 years ago

I feel the same way and I just keep the door closed to my room lol.
    I finally have my fabrics organized by color!!! The scraps are another story, they are in bags all tossed together. When I am working on a project my sewing room is a wreck and the kitchen is the same when I cook!!!!!
    Rosa

• teresa_nc7
    13 years ago

Most of my stash is organized by color; then there are separate piles for holiday, landscape, children/novelty, all over florals and sometimes the batiks are together, sometimes they're in with their color group. Oh, and plaids are in their own group. So....sort of "loosely" organized. Then there are the piles covering the cutting table....but we won't go there.

Teresa

• K8Orlando
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Rosa! We're sisters! LOL

• geezerfolks_SharonG_FL
    13 years ago

Usually by color. Except Batiks and flannel. When working on a project, or fabric is bought for a special project, that is kept separate (with the pattern, if there is one) because I will forget and use it for something else. But, all containers or bags have to be see-through...labels don't help me. Scraps are something else, literally! I have beautiful decorative jars (dill pickles come in them) of squares and strips......at least they're nice to look at. @:)

SharonG/FL

• toolgranny
    13 years ago