Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lots2do_gw

Yippee! School is over for me!

lots2do
16 years ago

Hi,

I finished packing all of my stuff in my new classroom at 5:30 tonight. Phew! What a relief! Still have a little bit of paperwork to do but it will get done.

I start my summer writing institute tomorrow. Monday-Thursday for 5 weeks...but it is really satisfying and a different pace from 'regular' school.

:)Kelly - NH

Comments (5)

• maryliz
    16 years ago

Well I'm glad to hear you're so happy. Will you be teaching English composition? That was always so hard for me, until I studied linguistics in college. Discourse analysis helped me write better. Go figure!

• lots2do
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hi maryliz,
    I am working on my master's in the teaching of writing. This is a National Writing Project summer institute running for 5 weeks (6 graduate credits). The main philosophy behind it is to have teachers teach other teachers how to teach writing. Phew! That's a mouth full. I was a participant last year and now I am returning to assist (and to participate on another level). There are 4 of us returning and we all get along very well. It's a very rewarding experience...as teachers we don't get a lot of time to do research etc. This could also lead me to other professional opportunities - giving workshops to families and teachers, running writer's camps for students, maybe teaching college courses and that sort of thing.

This has been such a tough school year for me - personally etc. I was so happy to be done...and am now looking forward to my summer.

Thanks for your message,
    Kelly - NH

• nassongrad_nh
    16 years ago

What a great way to spend the summer, Kelly. And there is such a need to improve the language skills, oral and written, these days. Good for you!