Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andreadn_gw

Trex class action settlement

andreadn
17 years ago

My decking is 3 years old and is swelling, molding and splitting on the ends of the boards. I filed a claim under the Trex class action settlement. Despite the involvment of the BBB of Washington DC and the NYS Attorney General's office, Trex has been extremely difficult to deal with. I have been battling them for about 5 months. They allege that the product was installed incorrectly and therefore not covered under the provisions of the settlement. Instead, they have offered a "good will gesture" of some replacement boards. Small claims court is not an option, as they have no offices in New York state. By the way, they get to administer the settlement claims against them in the lawsuit, not an impartial third party.

Let this be a word of warning to those considering a purchase of this product. Trex does not stand behind its warranty or its product.

Comments (21)

• john_hyatt
    17 years ago

Andre,,I responded on another site,its a bad deal with the T=junk boys all around, if I could help you I would.

John

• glennsfc
    17 years ago

Well...was the deck installed correctly? The Trex I used on my projects must have been the 'good stuff'...as I have never seen the problems you are describing with any of them.

• andreadn
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Yes, it was installed correctly and by a well respected local building contractor. According to Trex, it was installed incorrectly. Trex requires that the screws be fastened exactly 1" from the end of the board. Some of the screws on my deck were very slightly below that and some were very slightly above 1" (

• john_hyatt
    17 years ago