Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
duffeymt

New Deck - What Stain/Sealant is Recommended

Matt
12 years ago

I am in the midst of getting a rear 3 story deck built with grade 1 pressure treated lumber and researching what is the most recommended 5 year stain/sealant people use.

I assume the sealant also acts as a stain all in one, is this correct?

Comment (1)

• bloto9000
    12 years ago

I recently finished treating my newly built 14' x 16' pressure treated deck this past September. After plenty of research I settled on One Time http://onetimewood.com wood sealant/stain. I have 40+ years experience as a humble do-it-yourselfer home maintenance guy (not my main profession) and made more than my share of mistakes on various projects. Luckily I was able to learn some things along the way and feel I can give my recommendations on the use of this product with some confidence.

1. Watch the videos on the website for working with One Time. They provide some good tips as far as what kinds of tools to use as well as application techniques.

2. Make sure all deck surfaces are CLEAN and DRY before application. I used both a Behr deck cleaner and a Flood deck cleaner on different areas of the deck. I think that Flood did a slightly better job at brightening the wood. Just my unscientific observation. My deck was built in early August 2011 using kiln dried PT pine. After cleaning I waited 2 days (fortunately sunny)to allow the wood to dry out.

3. Applying the product was just as easy to apply as it appeared in the videos. I used 9" rollers for most surfaces and a 4" for spindles and tight spaces, finishing up with a 2" hand brush. Also used a large 5" deck brush on a pole to fill in the edges between the boards on the surface, just like in the video.