Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brain826

Ipe stain-dark brown options and difficulty level

Brain826
18 years ago

Looking for ideas on the best product to finish a new Ipe deck in a medium/dark brown color.

From What i have read in these threads, ATO looks like a good/easy solution for IPE but ATO mahogany flame looks too red from the samples I have seen and Amberwood doesn't look dark enough

The local lumber yard has a sample of Sikkens Dek (which looks perfect but the color used is unknown) and SRD250 natural (ok color, but would prefer darker.)

Can anyone recommend a color to use to achieve a rich dark brown? I know that I will need to test with my own samples but would like to narrow my options first.

Is there a big difference between the SRD250 and the ATO for ease of application and longevity? I have some experience staining furniture using dark colors and know that it can be extremely difficult to obtain an even look. Will that also be the case with these finishes on a 8'8' deck with stairs and railing?

Comments (31)

• Brain826
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks John
    I'll check it out.

• Brain826
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Unfortunately I can't get TWP 100 in California. Anyone have experience obtaining a dark color from any of the sikkens products? (considering SRD 250 teak or california redwood color)

• pressurepros
    18 years ago

Cabot's Australian in Honey Teak.

• Brain826
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thanks for the pic pressurepros. Hard to tell from the size, but I was hoping to go even darker to match the dining room paneling in a carftsman style home. It looks like I would have needed to hand pick only the darkest pieces of ipe in order to have that look.

Am I correct in thinking that Mahogany flame and honey teak ATO are about as dark as i can expect to go?

• aceshigh73
    18 years ago

I think Amberwood is darker than Honey Teak....