Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marcelo_p

Air dried massaranduba?

marcelo_p
13 years ago

hi, newbie here. I've been looking through allot of posts on here and on the web about all these different types of exotic hardwood decking. I've learned a ton of info from the posts on here about ipe, cumaru, garapa and massaranduba. I still have a long way to go though! I'm looking for the best bang for the buck material. I've found a local supplier who will sell me 1x4 and an odd size 1x5 massaranduba decking for $1/LF. The samples I saw look fantastic. However, I think the stuff has been sitting outside for a while so it might need some extra sanding to bring it back up to snuff. I'm thinking isn't too much extra work since I was planning on plugging and sanding the whole deck anyway. My worry is it seems most woods except Ipe are kiln dried for outside service. Of course, the sales people tell me there will be no problems with it. Should I be avoiding this stuff since it's air dried or should I be ok since it's been acclimated to the elements for a long time?

Thanks,

Marcelo

Comments (17)

• dooer
    13 years ago

I think the main reason that these other species are kiln dried are that they are not as stable as ipe.

I thin that once they are locked down securly to the framing, they are fine. If they are going to sit around exposed to the elements, then you might have a problem.

In your situation, I would inspect the material as close as they will allow it. If it looks OK, I would not be too worried. Slight warps and bows are fairly easy to fix. Twisting is not.

• marcelo_p
    Original Author
    13 years ago

hi thanks, I will try and get a good look at the actual stuff. I'm just worried about a deal that's too good to be true.

• deck.builder
    13 years ago