Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kwerk_gw

Review my deck plan!

kwerk
13 years ago

I've never built a deck before, could you guys please review my plan? I have planned it according to the IRC 2009. There are no building codes or inspections where I live.

16" footings seems like overkill, could I get away with 12" instead? 16" would be a whole cubic yard of concrete. The weights shown on the diagram are going on a 40 psf load.

Specs:

* 12' x 34' x 2'6" high

* Six footings (16" wide x 40" deep sonotubes, 4" gravel at bottom).

* 6'6" footing spacing with 9" beam overhang on each end.

* 2-2x10 beam 10' from house with 2' cantilever.

* Grace deck protect flashing on beam and ledger flashing of course.

I will worry about the stairs and railings after the main thing is built.

Please forgive the crappy MS paint diagram:

{{!gwi}}

Comments (4)

• john_hyatt
    13 years ago

Worry about the rail now. The posts should be installed inside the frame. Place the footings 16'' square and two feet down or on solid,not backfill, soil.

Some areas require much deeper piers,42/48'' , because of frost heave. J.

• mike_kaiser_gw
    13 years ago

I'd second John's suggesting of planning for that rail now. You want to make sure you can bolt those posts solidly to the framing.

• rcomeau
    13 years ago

I'm a DIYer, not a pro, but I had the experience of building a deck for myself (link below). It is similar to how your deck is long and not very high off the ground. Lowes used a program to generate my first plans. They were very similar to what you drew. I ended up making two significant changes to the plans; (1) many more footing and a second beam, (2) attached joist onto the face of the girders instead of on top of them.