Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mark_gardener

Ipe supplier I like = BannerElk Trading

mark_gardener
17 years ago

I've read many of the postings to this site about Ipe, but rarely have seen a supplier mentioned. I'm a newbie (i.e., this is my first posting) and I don't know if it is a no-no to mention suppliers who have given good service and good product at a good price. If it is a no-no, I apologize and ask people to stop reading here.

If, on the other hand, it is not a no-no to mention suppliers and if anyone is interested, I found an Ipe supplier with whom I am very pleased. It is BannerElk Trading out of Atlanta (877-909-8575). Our salesman was Bill.

We were preparing to build a 2,000+ sqft deck when our local lumber yard informed us they couldn't supply the Ipe we wanted (n.b., we were ordering 1" x 4" T&G kiln dried to 12%). We had about two weeks to find a replacement supplier.

A frantic search ensued (thank Heavens for the internet). Most suppliers did not have that amount of Ipe in that cut and dimension on hand. Those that did asked between $1.90 to $1.94 per linear foot (n.b., that included delivery).

I finally contacted Bill at BannerElk Trading and he was great though the initial moments of the conversation were unlike any I'd ever had. Bill asked if the Ipe was for an uncovered deck. I told him it was and ... get this ... he said he wouldn't sell me the wood because BannerElk didn't guarantee outdoor use !! (N.b., I finally agreed to sign a waiver.)