Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
southtowniceman

Concrete on raised deck

southtowniceman
15 years ago

I am considering installing a free standing deck off the back of my house. The deck only needs to be about 18" off the ground. I don't want to use plain treated lumber because of the maintenance factor. Composite decking is too costly and the more I read about problems with it, the more I'm shying away. I'm thinking along the lines of possibly using pavers, or 16x16 concrete patio blocks

(available from Home Depot, Lowe's etc.)My question is how to support it safely. I have to consider the weight of the pavers, people, and snow load. I'm not an engineer and don't understand span tables. The pavers would be layed on 16" centered joists, and no joist would span more than 8 feet. Would 2"x8"'s work or 2"x10"'s or should I use maybe 4"x4"'s for the joists? I visited a couple of sites that used a similar system, but the materials were purchased from them. Just trying to save a few bucks and do it myself. ANY INPUT?

Tom

Comments (35)

• deckman22
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Pavers or the like do not go on a wood frame, they go on top of the dirt. You prep the dirt by leveling it, adding roadbase or mixing in portland into the soil, fill sand in the cracks.

Al

• southtowniceman
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I realize that, but why couldn't they be installed above grade? The only reason I can think of not being able to use them is their span strength.
    Tom

• aidan_m
    15 years ago