Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tom_nwnj

Ipe decking - breadboard edge ??

tom_nwnj
16 years ago

I am just beginning my Ipe deck. It is approx 30' X 12', and average elevation from the ground is ~ 6 foot. The frame is mostly done, but I haven't ordered the decking yet.

How many folks here who build decks (John Hyatt, brooklyn decks, anybody else) go to the trouble of hiding the end grain, with a breadboard edge?

{{!gwi}}

Thanks in advance!

Tom Fischer

Comments (22)

• deckman22
    16 years ago

I do that on a lot of decks, some folks like some don't.

Al

• john_hyatt
    16 years ago

I always do,its called endgrain trim with my Wallets.

Not really what you have drawn..trim the decking flush with the frame instal rips of the decking to the out side. This is one reason using the thinded down wax is not needed with my stuff, all the end grain is covered with the trim. J.

• tom_nwnj
    Original Author
    16 years ago

John,

So the end grain trim should be approx 1.5" wide rip (facia board is 3/4" + 3/4" for deck board bullnosed overhanging) ??

Thanks!

tf

• john_hyatt
    16 years ago

With 3/4 facia or skirting,1 1/2'' works well for me,this will give an overhang detail that looks good after the skirting is butted up to it. We put the router detail on before install.

We use Tightbond111 and ss screws fastening the endgrain trim. Little Trick>> If your working by yourself,lightly tap a few nails under the decking this will hold up the trim while you making your mark

• dooer
    16 years ago

Like John, we have done it both ways. We always use trim of some sort, usually we will rip the 5 1/2" boards down the middle, leaving 2 pieces around 2 5/8".

That said, I really do like the look of the "Breadboard" trim. You can either overhang it a bit, 1/2 to 1" or add trim to the outside. It is more work though.

Mark

• tom_nwnj
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I think I'm going with a 3" edge-grain board (breadboard).