Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
basset_gw

Sanding Deck

basset
17 years ago

I just purchased a house and it seems that the deck needs a major rehab. Structurally, the deck is sound, but its splintered and cracked throughout the deck's horizontal surfaces. The vertical surfaces are in decent shape.

The dimensions on the deck are multilevel, 10x40. I am not good at reading woodgrain so I'm not certain what type of wood I'm dealing with. Anyway, I'm going to sand the horizontal surfaces and only clean the vertical surfaces and then seal it.

Before I get the Milwaulkee hand-sander and attack the deck, would there be any harm in using a floor sander from a rental company? My brother-in-law has told me that the floor sander is designed for hardwood floors, not decks. I didn't think that the sander cares about what wood it's sanding, but I need to ask the question given the potential time savings.

basset

Cincinnati

Comments (10)

• gorillabuilder
    17 years ago

You can use a floor sander if the deck is that bad. Go across, then diagonal then with the grain. Make sure the nails are below the surface so you don't tear the sandpaper. Pop them down a bit with a punch if they are up, or screw a tad deeper if they are screws. Be careful with the floor sander and go easy because it's heavy duty and can dig in. Stay smooth, go easy and the deck will be smooth.
    Let the new surface weather a few rains, then clean it with a wood cleaner to get any mildew, algae growth and then follow up with an oxalic acid. (deck brightener) to rid tannin stains, rust stains from nails..etc. These products are usually diluted, read the directions and be cautious with the brightener. Wear gloves, goggles, etc. Careful with splashing yourself.
    Let it dry for 2 days and put the stain on later in the day so it doesn't flash dry before it absorbs. Wipe it down 15 minutes later to get the shiny spots off and you got yourself a new deck.

• gorillabuilder
    17 years ago