Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
metromom_gw

Pavers vs Concrete vs Deck

metromom
14 years ago

We have a 40 year old cracked concrete slab behind our house that I would like to replace and I am just getting started as far as researching what my options are. My first choice is to build a deck right over it, but DH does not want the maintenance of a wood deck (and the composite ones I have seen look plastic-y to me).

DH is convinced that stamped concrete is a better alternative that might cost a little more upfront but will last longer. Is he right?

Finally, if we settled on pavers as a compromise solution, can anyone answer whether they could be installed over the existing concrete slab? (I really don't want to get into jackhammering it up...) What if we wanted to do something that's a little bigger than the existing slab? Could we do that?

Thanks in advance for any insights you might have about the pros/cons of each alternative.

Comments (4)

• john_hyatt
    14 years ago

Do not build a deck over a 40 year old cracked slab unless you bust out the creet where the piers are going. Do not install pavers on a 40 year old cracked slab.

Stamped concrete is cool looking stuff so is a S American lumber deck. Both would require some good ol JackHammer work. J.

• dontknow
    14 years ago

Totally depends on preference. Pros & cons to both and nothing is totally maintenance free, although some things may require more maintenance than others.

In our Upstate NY climate, everything takes a beating - regardless of selected product.

Long story short, I will never have another deck nor do I prefer poured concrete. Decks take too much of my time and money for maintenance (even composite) and I just don't care for the stamped concrete.

In our climate, poured concrete shifts as do pavers.