Return to the Porches & Decks Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Covered Deck

Posted by bil549 (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 16, 08 at 22:48

My first post to this forum so I hope I am not rehashing something. I have some experience building decks and just purchased a new manufactured home as a lake residence and want to add a 14'X14' covered deck. I have never put a roof on a deck so there is my question. How so I join the roof to the existing 6" eave of the home? I want to continue the roof line (angle) and cover with composition shingles like the house roof. The roof will extend out over the 14' deck. There is no gable only a flat eave. I have searched through a couple of topics related to deck covers and have not seen a similar plea for help. Thanks for any responses. I have already picked up some valuable information while doing my search.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Covered Deck

The only way to fasten a shingled roof covered patio to your existing building is to cut existing decking and place your rafters on the wall plate, fastening to both the top plate and the existing rafters.
DO NOT fasten in any other manner.
Hopefully you'll have quite a few steps down from your door because you'll have an ever decreasing ceiling as it continues at the existing pitch (roof line(angle)). Even with a 4 pitch this is a 4'8" drop on 14' and a 5' drop on 15' if you expect to have soffit. You could drop this to 2 but it isn't recomended and the shingle Mfg will not recognize the warranty on the shingles because the pitch is to shallow.

See ya,
Kelly

o