Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladybugfruit

hot tub evaporation rate in cold

ladybugfruit
13 years ago

Ok, newbie here to pool and hot tub ownership. We have a 2005 thermaspa free standing hot tub. Over a course of 3 days, the water level on our hot tub has gone down at least 3-5 inches. Initially, I thought maybe because it was cold, and I could see steam evaporating at the corners of the cover, that it was loosing water that way, but I am beginning to wonder if I could have a crack? TIA

Comments (17)

• poolguynj
    13 years ago

Not likely to be a crack in the shell but there is a leak. It may be a motor seal, gasket, or plumbing and does need to be checked out.

Cold air just makes the evaporation more visible when the top is off. It doesn't speed it up.

Scott

• ladybugfruit
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks Scott!! I will get my repair guy out to look @ it! i am so relieved that it's prob not the shell... :) Whew, what a learning curve!
    Erin

• busboy
    13 years ago

I don't have a tub, but cold air has a lower dewpoint, ie it is drier. It will suck up moisture more quickly than than warm moist air. SCIENCE!!

• poolguynj
    13 years ago

The delta is minimal at best.

Scott

• ladybugfruit
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Please pardon my ignorance, but what is delta? My repair guy can out yesterday and only found 1 small leak...he has repaired that and also caught that one of the air jets below was blowing out directly on the motor ( told ya'll I was still learning). He also fixed that. Now we will wait and see how the water level does...maybe it was a combination of the small leak and cold air. Time will tell.

• poolguynj
    13 years ago

Delta is a change.

Scott

• just-a-pb
    13 years ago

Busboy,
    You are right in the fact that temp does effect evaporation. But it is the air movement over the water that causes the most evaporation.