Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lindamarie_gw

What pump are you using?

lindamarie
12 years ago

We have a 30,000 gal gunite in ground pool with a small kiddie pool, in MS

Scott recommended a Pentair maxio pro 2 stage pump. Which I can't find in our area and on line is $700+

The pool supply store near me suggested a Hayward pump stating they last longer. I can get one on line at A1 Pool parts for @291 a 1.5 HP and a Pentair Super Flo 1.5 at $337.45

I would appreciate opinions and experience please.

Our last pump runs hot and stops, it is about 3 yrs old

Comments (9)

• coastal_concepts
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

As a pool contractor I can say with confidence that the person who told you that Hayward will last longer is completely full of it. Dont get me wrong Hayward makes a decent product but not even the nice folks at Hayward would make that claim. Hayward represents the lower end, cost and quality, for pool equipment - which IS what most pool owners want. Cheap and gets the job done.

That being said the Pentair pump is better. Period. Higher quality components, better design, more longevity but a higher price tag.

The only solid advice for pump selection these days is to purchase a variable speed pump. If you can crunch the numbers of cost to run a variable speed pump - either Hayward Ecostar or Pentair VS will the the cheapest way to go in the long run. Also better for the planet =)

Be careful though as both manufacturers require a 2" suction with a specific installation at the suction side of the pump. You must have 5x the pipe diameter in a straight run in front of the pump with no obstructions (valves, fittings) or risk cavitating the pump and likely burning it out early. Dont trust your pool guy to know this.

In bad cases where these pumps are installed on older plumbing systems with insufficient pipe diameter the pumps will not come out of error mode as they are starved for water.