Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bobvilas_gw

Negative Edge Pool in Hawaii

bobvilas
13 years ago

Hello pool Gurus,

I am helping a friend who started building this 40'x 20' negative edge pool at his house. He owns a ranch so he had plenty of equipment available to do the dig. He hired a man on our island to help get it to the gunite stage. Confidence has dwindled so now they are no longer working together. I have been a tile contractor for 23 years and have done countless pools and water features. The shell appears to be done well enough but we have some questions as to the plumbing. I was hoping to post the info we have and see if someone here could help us decide the best possible way to pump the existing plumbing. We are not looking for a large sheet of water in transit over the weir. Just more of a nice wet wall look. We do not, however, want a "drippy" wall look. We are interested in variable speed or dual speed pump options as we have heard that they can be more energy efficient.

Main pool is 30,000 gallons (rectangle 20' x 40')[Negative edge on on 40' side]

Collection Basin is 1300 gallons (rectangle 3' x 40' x 1.5')

Jacuzzi is 670 gallons (raised 18" above pool) [spills into pool]

Equipment house floor is built 1' above pool waterline and about 20' away from pool.

Only Skimmer is set in Collection Basin and 5' below main pool waterline.

I have entered a link to a diagram I made of the plumbing as well as some pictures. Let me know what other information is needed.

Thank you so much in advance for any help you can give.

Bobby

Here is a link that might be useful: Plumbing Diagram

Comments (147)

• bobvilas
    Original Author
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

there are actually two 3" suctions, two 2" hot water returns, eight 1 1/2" jets and one 2" drain in the spa.