Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
erikamc_gw

Pools in New England--Gunite, Fiberglass, or Concrete??

erikamc
13 years ago

Hi everyone,

Looking for research/opinions on what type of pool is best suited for New England weather. We are looking for low maintenance. Also, any intel on differences in price between the three is much appreciated?

(P.S.--if there is no difference between concrete pools and gunite, forgive me, I'm new to this process!)

Thanks in advance.

Comments (7)

• poolguynj
    13 years ago

All three tolerate the weather changes quite well. The installer is as important as the materials used. Stay involved. Know, don't assume.

My first question is "What do you want to do with it?" While this may seem like a Duh! type question, it really does require a lot of thought. Who's using the pool, who's hanging out by the pool, what activities in and around the pool and yard are all pertinent.

Prioritizing the wants vs needs vs cost needs to be done. It's not just the construction aspects, there will be on going costs.

Then there is the care and maintenance questions involving generalized who, what, and how.

Be honest with yourselves about what you can afford vs. want. Plan for cost over runs. They are darn near impossible to avoid.

Gunite and Shotcrete are concrete. They are shot out of a large, pressurized, hose and nozzle when they are applied as opposed to being poured like traditional concrete.

HTH,

Scott

• erikamc
    Original Author
    12 years ago

bump...help please??

• jerseypool
    12 years ago

When you said "low maintenance", my thoughts went to fiberglass.... however, with the fiberglass, usually comes a higher price, but then there's the savings over time (less chemicals, no liners to ever replace...)

Do a search, or just stick around for a while on a lazy weekend and re-read old posts... lots of great info in here. Best of luck!

• MPK 09
    12 years ago