Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ktenos_gw

New pool constuction

ktenos
12 years ago

Hi everyone. I've been perusing the forum and there is a lot of helpful information here, but some of it is over my head as I am very new to this process. My husband and I are building a new home and are considering putting in a pool at the same time. I have just started the process of reaching out to some designers in Massachusetts. I would love any input you have on questions I should be asking as I begin this interviewing process. We welcome any advice as we start this process.

Thanks

Comments (11)

• cmanley33
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I am no expert but I too am just finally starting a long awaited pool build. I have been back and forth about whether or not to build a pool for over 5 years now. This summer after watching friends put in a pool I finally decided it was time to get serious about the pool. I had 4 pool builders come to the house which like you said is very overwhelming. After talking to 4 different PBs I had enough information to make a choice. I am in MD so I cannot recommend a builder in MA.
    As much as I wanted to rush this project I had to really make myself take my time making my decisions. I started seriously looking into things in July and I knew there was no way a pool was going in for summer 2011. I knew it had to be 2012 and I think if you want a pool for 2012 you have to start researching now. Here are a few things I had to deal with before I could even make a decision about the builder. I had to get a land survey because we decided to put up a fence around our yard as opposed to just the pool. I had to bring in fencing contractors. I had to go to the health dept to find out where our septic drainage fields were and the reserve fields (not sure if you have to deal with that).
    I narrowed my builders down like this:
    One was way way way too high in price
    One had way too many complaints (A&S)