Return to the Pools & Spas Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Right way to install tile decking?

Posted by classicalone (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 15, 10 at 10:23

Our pool is 13 years old. It has red brick-look coping and aggragate concrete decking which has cracked. Adjacent to the decking there is a concrete paver patio, set in sand on crushed stone.

I want to replace the coping with nice stone coping and replace all of the decking and paver patio with travertine (or the like) tile.

My husband and I have lots of experience doing inside tile work, and doing all sorts of major construction on our house, so I'm confident that we can do this ourselves.

But we of course need to do this correctly, and we're not sure the correct or proper way to do this.

Can anyone tell us the basics of installing tile decking around a pool, including what tiles we should or shouldn't use?

Or even point us to a web site with the information we'd need, or even an up-to-date book with this information?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Right way to install tile decking?

I'd actually like some information about building the base for laying tile around a pool.

Hopefully someone who builds pools, or someone who's recently had tile decking installed around a pool, will be able to provide some info.

My main questions are about the thickness of the concrete under the decking, control joints, gaps between the coping and the decking, amount of slope of the decking, what type of drainage systems to use, and things like that.

Anyone?

o
RE: Right way to install tile decking?

There are two ways to achieve your goal.

1st- would be to remove the existing coping, concrete, and the paved patio. Replace the coping and use a stabilized subbase under 1 1/4" travertine pavers or pour new concrete in these areas and cement on a 1/2" travertine tile (more expensive)