Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rmw_

Considering San Juan IG fiberglass, comments?

rmw_
13 years ago

Just throwing this out there, to the experts (you guys) for some input/info.

I'll apologize right off for the long winded post, but I'm just getting into the "pool" thing and doing tons of research right now.

Considering a pool. INGROUND for sure. 95% sure I'm set on fiberglass.

We are in our early 30s, kid is 7 and lots of neighbor kids in the same age range.

I want to build an area that will remind us of our recent trip to Kauai, HI and a great safe area for the kids to play for years.

Budget - $30-$35k (maybe tad more) that will be available after the sale of a sports car.

In southern Ohio, so hot summers and cold winters.

HUGE flat yard with absolutely NO shade. Yard is 125' wide. No utilities/septic or anything out back to worry about.

Excuse the dead yard from this year's drought! Figured I'd run the pool the long way. Narrow end close to the house.

I'm heavily leaning towards fiberglass. Seems the best all-around option. I'm looking at Viking, San Juan, and Trilogy at the moment. It seems the more you research the more confused you get! Reading all the blogs/forums/etc everyone just attacks each other. At first I was leaning towards Viking, but are their pools really thin and quality control lacking now-a-days? Any real world comments on these three manufacturers?

I really like San Juan's Desert Springs model. ~30' x ~14', ~6800 gallons

Anyone know if white, bone, light blue are the only standard colors? Are all SJ's iridium finishes extra cost?

Could I just use the spa area as a "kiddie pool" type area and not plumb for extra jets/heat/etc?

How many returns, skimmers, mains, etc would be preferred in a pool this shape/size?

Pumps/filters? I know everyone says to use a variable speed. I'd like to keep my electric bill in the affordable range and not double it.