Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flchad

pumps and energy consumption

flchad
15 years ago

I'm trying to get my ducks in a row for when my pool contractor comes out to sit down to go over all the equipment. In my looking to upgrade to the intelliflo, I started playing around with this calculator.

I was trying to use it to compare the energy cost of a 1/2 HP to a 1 HP. My thinking is this would be reprsentative of a 2 speed pump. However, the 1/2 HP run cost more than the 1 HP run, all other variables being equal (15k gallons, $.14 per kWh and 1 turn per day. I thought the whole idea is to reduce the HP (lower speed), run longer and reduce energy due to non linear current reduction?? This calculator doesnt seem to show that.

I'm really torn between upgrading to the intelliflo, a 2 speed or just the standard 1 HP that is being offered with the pool.

Here is a link that might be useful: energy calculator

Comments (151)

• deeker
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

As I have mentioned I do work Pentair and I do enjoy the board and have learned many things from the posts by homeowners on this board.I will take information from the board, learn from it and try to keep you informed with answers as we move forward.

The bad thing about this board is someone can write anything and give out bad information. My own personnal opinion is trthought has motives to continue to hump jandy products. He says he does not work for them but reading through his posts it appears to me that he does But I will take him at his word twhen he says he does not.

I do want to clear up how 2 speeds and IntelliFlo's work on solar and highlight the differences.

Here is how the solar systems work with 2-speed and IntelliFlo pumps with automation ( SunTouch, EZ or IntelliTouch).
    2-Speed: