Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grumpymrj

What is an 'acceptable' amount of mottling in a diamondbrite pool

grumpymrj
15 years ago

I had my pool diamondbrited 10 days ago...regular blue (not cool or super)...I can see white streaks (light) on the walls...and a couple of bad spots (I see some color in them but alot of white plaster) on the floor of the pool...I know that there is suppoused to be some mottling in the product...but what is an acceptable amount ? Has anyone else had this problem? Any photos I can see? The pool store I contracted through says the pool looks fine and it will go away over time...I am not sure about that...I have done a no drain acid wash the last two days (a week after they plastered) in addition to the acid wash they did when the job was done...but I dont see any changes.

I am a teacher in Florida...so I dont have a ton of cash...I wonder if I am too picky or should I make them acid wash this again ?

Also has anyone had any luck with diamondbrite being sanded down...they left a slight ridge on the back of the steps and seat (pool and spa)...If I am emptying the pool again I would want that fixed...I can live with this if it is something that can go really wrong...any suggestions ?

Comments (10)

• golfgeek
    15 years ago

grumpymrj,
    Two days was probably not enough. Diamond Brite is a very hard surface and you may need to lower the ph for a week or ten days to eliminate the streaks and most mottling.
    Traditional acid washes often leave streaks in the dark Diamond Brite colors.
    Call your PB, start-up company, or plaster contractor for proper start-up procedure. Good luck.

• teppy
    15 years ago

can you post a photo?

• grumpymrj
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Here is a picture of the worst spot...
    it looks alot worse in the early morning (first thing
    I see when I go out to walk the dog)...pretty much disappears under the sun.

[IMG]http://i25.tinypic.com/212suu9.jpg[/IMG]