Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paradigmdawg

Pool pump keeps burning out

paradigmdawg
12 years ago

I am on #3 and this is the 3rd summer we have had the pool.

PB says it is rare to see issues with these pumps.

He has replaced them for free but they are lasting almost a year on the dot and I am sure the time will come were I will have to pay for them. It gets hot on the side of the house and I asked him if I should build a shade structure over there and he said I could but the pumps should be fine.

Pool is 14,000 gallons, pump is Pentair Whisperflow 1.5 hp, all other water features run off of seperate pumps, equipement pad is ~ 20ft from pool.

Here is an old picture of the pad before we did landscape.

Thoughts?

Comments (15)

• paradigmdawg
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Sorry, double post

• busboy
    12 years ago

I'm not an electrician but you might want to check the voltage at the pump. Low voltage will make the pump work harder and cause overheating. Make sure whoever wired used a heavy enough gauge for the amps/voltage needed. Should be #12 or #10 gauge wire for your supply line. The further the distance from the supply panel the greater the line resistance.

• paradigmdawg
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I don't hear any cavitation, distribution valves seem to be fine and the skimmers are both open.

1 speed pump, I hope I don't have to buy another one for 5+ years.

Water features are plumbed separately.

My brother in law is an electrician so I will get him to check that end.

Thanks, we love the pool.

• trhought
    12 years ago

paradigm...sorry to hear about your pre-mature pump failures...3 failures in 3 years is pointing to an application problem.

Something is making the pump work harder and the motor run hotter than normal. Finding this root cause will prevent future faiures...providing shade will not prevent more failures.

This is hard to troubleshoot over the internet but having more information may help.