Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fuzzygus

River stones/pebbles in pool landscape?

fuzzygus
15 years ago

Hi, All,

A newbie here. Wondering if anyone has used river stones or polished pebbles as landscape around a pool? We have some beds that abut the pool on either side of the spa, and I was thinking of using stones as fill (vs. plantings -- there is currently soil in the beds). I wondered how the stones worked: do they get dirty? do they make their way into the pool and how bad that is? what color schemes any other posters have chosen and do they have photos? where they purchased them?

Thank you so much!

FG

Comments (13)

• stonesmama
    15 years ago

We are planning to use a lot of stones in beds around the pool. Sorry that we are just not that far along. We are waiting for our cabana to be completed in another couple of weeks and then the landscapers will move in. I'll be glad to post then, but it might be too late for you. Good luck deciding. I will be following this to see what people have to say.

Here is a link that might be useful: Our Pool Build

• npoaz
    15 years ago

We too are strongly concidering small (one inch or so) river rock for our landscape. The pool is going to take up a good portion of our yard and we don't want grass again. Our thought is river rock for it's smoothness, if you step off the decking. We are thinking tropical with a few palms, some ground cover plants along the border and potted flowering plants.

I would also like to see pictures of thouse who chose river rock or something similar for their pool landscape.

• jimcufsem
    15 years ago

I will take some and post later, I used large sized river rock that extends abour 1 to 2 feet off my concrete deck around the pool. I used landscape fabric underneath it and still get a weed or two, but that was well worth it.

• barco
    15 years ago

We have all kinds of river rock and dry creek beds around our pool. Those rocks are heavy...they don't go anywhere.

• westview95