Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashmere

Crack in concrete deck- normal?

ashmere
13 years ago

Our concrete pool deck was poured approx. 3 months ago. This past weekend, I noticed a long (approx. 4 foot) crack that runs from the raised portion of the deck at the rear of the pool, down both steps, and continues on the lower level of the concrete deck. I also extends towards the brick coping. Should I be concerned about this? Is this normal? I have contacted our pool builder but was wondering what should be done about this, if anything, or is it normal for a crack like this to appear this soon? Any advice or feedback is appreciated.

Thanks,

Laura

Comments (11)

• grassy
    13 years ago

I'm no expert but 3 months seems a bit early to crack.

However, we have a poured concrete deck (not aggregate, and no elevations or steps) and our pool builder gave us a guarantee... he guaranteed that at some point it would crack!

But it was finished in October of last year and so far no cracks.

• jeff_jeff
    13 years ago

I have 2 cracks perpendicular to the pool from the coping through the deck. One goes through the middle of the skimmer, one goes through the middle of a deck drain. They showed up 4 - 6 months after the pour.

PB says it is "normal". But I also think I have a slow leak, wondering if the two are related.

• plasterman2000
    13 years ago

A leak in the skimmer throat is possible where the tile in the throat meets the plastic skimmer with a little dye food coloring,red color bottle in test kit equip off move slowly squeeze a little dye around grout, plastic skimmer inside throat if leak, watch for dye to suck in leaking spot. Cracks are sometimes signs of a leak or movement

Hairline cracks in new decks is common

• fins_up
    13 years ago