Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
snowman8_gw

remodel of existing pool

snowman8
9 years ago

Hello, I am currently remodeling the house that I purchased. The 570 sq ft pool desperately needs to be refinished as well. We are going to drain, sandblast, chip out and re-level any bubbled or hollow sounding areas, then have it redone with diamond bright. We also thought about doing some remodeling to the current structure. We would like to add a shelf, 50sq ft, in the shallow end that is about 6"-9" under the water level that would transition into steps that then go down to the original level of the shallow end.

My question is how? I am an engineer and extremely handy but I would love to hear from some industry experience. My initial thought would be to chip away the existing finish and remove gunite to expose the steal. i could tie steal into the existing steal. Form up and pour the new stairs in concrete with steal throughout that is tied into existing structure. Backfill the area between the stairs and existing pool wall (area under the new shelf) with compacted material, then pour new floor of shelf over the compacted material. This of course would be reinforced and tied into the existing structure just like the stairs.

Please give me any thoughts you may have, is this an acceptable way of doing things? Will it stay water tight once refinished with diamond bright. Any advice would be helpful. Thank you for your time.

Comments (6)

• golfgeek
    9 years ago

snowman8,
    It's pretty common to gunite shelves and steps after a pool has been chipped out. For that matter, I've gunited over plaster.