Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flhomes_gw

Water flow design question

flhomes
11 years ago

So my pool rebuild is completed and my pool is in startup mode on my old equipment. I was originally planning to keep all my old equipment, but I've since reconsidered. I'm mostly doing the equipment designs/upgrades myself with a little advice from the pool guy. Why? I'm an engineer type and find it fun to mess around with.

In any case, I've decided to purchase the Pentair chlorinator and Easy touch (I purchased the 8SC-IC40 kit). I also purchased 2 extra actuators, and an intelliflow VS-3050 pump. My current filter is a Hayward 48 SQFT DE filter which has a Variflow 6-way valve.

My pool:

* Located in Tampa, FL

* No screen enclosure (removed as part of the remodel)

* Something around 15-20k gallons

* Attached spa

* Sidewall suction side cleaner port - (thinking about great white or sand shark cleaner)

* New sheer descent (about 18" wide, 24" above pool) installed with the pool rebuild

* Pool equipment located about 30 feet from the closest side of the pool (runs are not too long)

* Most of the plumbing is 1.5", except the spa drain and jet returns are 2". The new Sheer Descent is 2"

I'm a little bummed out that this Pentair controller equipment is 1980's ladder logic technology. For the money, I was expecting something a little more modern and sophisticated. I was also sad to see that the 3-way actuator valves are only 2-position. They cannot be set to multi-positions to vary the flow between two inputs/outputs. Oh, well, on with my question.