Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stanw_gw

Chlorine advice

stanw
10 years ago

I'm new to home and pool ownership.My pool is fairly large (not sure how many gallons) and I currently have a pool guy taking care of it once a week. I have a floater in the pool with chlorine tabs also. Two days after the pool guy was over my chlorine levels were a bit low. I had them checked at a pool store. The pool store is telling me its because my pool guy uses liquid chlorine and it evaporates quickly, and they want to sell me more expensive chemicals. My pool guy tells me that I have too much salt and calcium in my pool and I should drain and refill it because it is not holding the chemicals.

1. Do you guys use standard liquid chlorine or the more expensive powder? Does it pay to use the more expensive chlorine vs. standard liquid?
2. How often do you put chlorine into your pool during the week?
Is it normal that chlorine is added on Thursday and already low two days later?

Thanks for any insight!

Comments (8)

• MongoCT
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I use liquid chlorine. 12% versus the standard 5-6% you'll find in the laundry section of your store.

In a nutshell, free chlorine gets consumed due to two things; it gets broken down by the sun (UV), and it's consumed when killing unwanted organics in your pool (algae, for example).

You can minimize the amount of chlorine that is lost to sunlight by using a chlorine stabilizer or conditioner. Usually referred to as "CYA" or cyanuric acid.

CYA does two things: It protects the chlorine from being broken down by sunlight, which is important in an outdoor pool. It also combines with chlorine to lower the active chlorine concentration in the pool, that second part is what prevents chlorine from being to hard on swimsuits, hair, skin, etc.

"Stabilizer" and "Conditioner".