Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cannonball_joe

Any suggestions on outdoor speakers?

cannonball_joe
16 years ago

I am thinking of running outdoor speakers to the pool/spa area. I've never done this before, so I'm looking for advice.

What type of speakers did you use? Are you satisfied?

Any other tips or suggestions?

Thanks

Joe

Comments (13)

• jasonjm2007
    16 years ago

these sound good and are cheap

Here is a link that might be useful: yamaha

• meandaddy
    16 years ago

Hi Joe,

I got some speakers from www.outdoorspeakerdepot.com based on some recomendations from this forum. They have a good selection and price range. I went with a pair of rock speakers, and have been very happy.

I ran the wire under the house, and hooked them to my inside receiver. The sound is great, but a little inconvenient to change CDs. I hooked up an IPod, and put on a long playlist. I read recently here that someone was able to set up their remote to operate their inside system, that might be something to look into.

Have a great day,
    Deron

• bruce61
    16 years ago

I also got speakers from http://www.outdoorspeakerdepot.com. Couldn't be happier. They are a bit more than Costco, but sound a whole lot better. The price is per speaker, but for about $250 for a pair, they are great. I ran the speaker wire through conduit before the deck was poured and ran speaker wire to six locations. I picked up a used but good high-power amplifier on ebay and ran it to the '2nd room zone' on my stereo so I can selectively have music only outside, only inside, or both, and all can be the same or different.

Here is a link that might be useful: Speakers

• gzelano
    16 years ago

Not Sure if you have a BJ's Wholesale Club near you, I just bought a pair of Bose Environmental speakers for $159.00 for the pair and the sound is unbelievable. My friend is a Bose dealer and says he can't buy them that cheap.

• scrapula
    16 years ago

gzelano, I saw those today at Sam's Club, too.