Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dcstevens78

help! chlorine and ph levels!

dcstevens78
13 years ago

I am new to pools. I just fired my pool guy because i took my water in to get testest and the results were horrible! I knew there was something wrong my the strong odor of chlorine coming from the pool.

So i have a 9816 gallon pool, i've added in 2 days, 6 bags of shock, and 9 lbs of soda ash, and im still getting no reading for chlorine, it shows up clear, and ph is still 6.8 if not lower, since my test doesn't read any lower than that. I need to know what else to do. I can't keep throwing money into this if it won't fix it. Do i need to drain the pool and start over? Any advice would be great. Thanks. And i am unsure of any other levels for my pool i didn't take the report home with me, but i am getting the water tested in a few days again.

Also, they say i have a ton of dead chlorine, which is what the smell is, but 6lbs of shock didnt take it away? Help please! Thanks!

Comments (12)

• cannonball_joe
    13 years ago

The place that tested the water should be able to tell you what you need.

I know the last time I couldn't get a chlorine reading (I have a salt water system), even though I turned up the chlorinator to 100%, I was told I needed a conditioner. The chlorine was basically burning off faster than the chlorinator could produce. Once I put the conditioner in the problem was solved. Just an idea.

• fighting_irish
    13 years ago

Have they tested for phosphates or nitrates as well?

It sounds to me like you need to continue to shock to me as well. But having your test readings would be helpful. To give more accurate advice.

• piscespool
    13 years ago