Return to the Pools & Spas Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
starting remodel- how long can pool stay empty?

Posted by laff66 (My Page) on
Fri, May 18, 07 at 10:05

I've always heard the pool "popping up" stories and assumed they were mostly myth. Now that I'm about to have an empty one I started worrying about it just a little! Certainly there wouldn't be a problem with it sitting empty for several days??

If anyone's interested, I can post pics of the full remodel, since everyone else's pictures were so helpful to us. We're going from white plaster with 1980's "flowery" tile and brick coping to pebble plaster and limestone coping.

Is there an easy explanation on how to post pics? I read instructions but could not get it to work??

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: starting remodel- how long can pool stay empty?

Disclaimer - this is my experience only. I am not a pool expert, just an avid DIYer, so I may not know what the heck I'm talking about. Your mileage may vary, proceed at your own risk, etc. (i.e. don't come crying to me or try to sue me if anything goes wrong).

I've had my pool drained for my DIY remodeling project for about 2.5 months now. My drain has a hydrostatic relief pipe in it, but when I drained the pool I found that it had never been capped, so I'm guessing it must be clogged up (otherwise I suppose the water would have drained out).

I thought about drilling a couple of holes in the deepest part to provide hydrostatic relief, but opted against it. One, I was concerned about being able to patch them sufficiently. But also, I talked to a couple of people in my neighborhood who had pools put in recently, and they said they never hit water during the excavation (and one of them even has a deep end, vs. our "party pool" which is on 5' deep). So based on that, I'm assuming the water table isn't very high in our area.