Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nicole007_gw

Can you plant tall Cherry Laurels & Crape Myrtals close to a pool

nicole007
10 years ago

I used to have wild stringy trees growing in a patch of ground by the corner of my pool (with a sidewalk in-between) but I cut it down so it wouldn't turn into trees and eventually become a problem. But, now I have no privacy and I miss having something tall in that corner. I'm thinking that the skinny trees wouldn't have been a problem for a long time and I wish I had left them. What is something tall and tree like ... (the trees I cut down were up to the tree tops but they were almost as thin as Cherry Laurels) ...

Anyway ... any suggestions?

Comments (3)

• truxtc102
    10 years ago

hi Nicole,
    I'm not a tree expert but I do love them! If you just want a tall, tree like without taking up too much space, I think some sort of evergreen like Italian cypress, lyland, etc..would be good. If there's a pool, a palm tree would be awesome. I have some neighbors who plant regular shrubs and let them grow tall and they did great to give their yard some privacy. Hope it helps!

• lascatx
    10 years ago

Only a fool would plant crepe myrtles near a pool -- and the PO of my home was a fool! ;-)

I have 4 of them across the end of my pool. My neighbor had them near a pool at a previous home and said never again, but we are living with ours. They will create some more work for you.