Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
graffster

Should Skimmer Basket Float? (newbie here...)

graffster
16 years ago

OK, we're 2 months into new pool ownership...the newbie questions should be coming fast and plenty!

My skimmer basket "floats" when the skimmer is not on. I know the suction keeps it in place when it's on, but should it stay in it's place when the skimmer is not on? We only have one skimmer, and it doesn't seem to do a great job...it's an uncaged pool, but there's a lot of surface stuff I have to "scoop" that I thought the skimmer would get.

Also, is there a recommended water level? (Like how far up the water-line tile?) We have an auto-fill that seems to run a LOT...should it be mid-tile, or is it a personal preference?

BTW...hubby was the contractor on the build, so 'check with your PB' won't help me...LOL

You guys were great with my previous dirt problem...

Kathy

Comments (11)

• tresw
    16 years ago

The skimmer basket definitely should not float. It should twist-lock into place. With the water off, looks closely at the skimmer and you should see tabs in it. You line up the basket so that the tabs on the basket align with the slots between the skimmer tabs. Push it down and turn it to lock it in.

The recommended water level is midway up the waterline tile. A little more or less is OK, but you definitely don't want the water to go below the tile (scumline will form on the plaster which is a lot harder to clean off than tile) or above the tile (skimmers become ineffective).

This time of year you shouldn't have to fill too much. We haven't added a drop to our pool in 2 months. If you have autofill and an overflow drain, the autofill float may be set too high and the water is just going right out through the drain.

• scal
    16 years ago