Return to the Pools & Spas Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
plaster rough

Posted by solrac6262 (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 3, 11 at 12:54

Hello I am not an expert on pools, my spa plaster feels very rough, and also my pool steps and ledge.. the spa side walls and pool are very smooth.only the flat surface, can this be corrected>?? I have a pool guy, that cleans and takes care of my pool why this could happen?

thanks

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: plaster rough

You might be able to sand it with a fine grit of wet/dry sand paper.

What has your pool guy told you?

Scott

o

I had this problem a few years back. What I did was lower my ph to around 6.8 and let it sit there for a few days. This will loosen the scale and make it easier to remove from the plaster. I then used a eight inch spackel knife on my telescoping pole (held with pipe clamps) and gently knocked the scale from the surface. Don't scrape too hard just lightly slide against the surface. Then repeat a few times and brush the surface, you should see the scale in the pool and feel the surface getting smoother,

I tried lowering ph and brushing only as recommended by pool experts, but it did not work there still was scale. The friction from the scraper on the surface was better at knocking the scale off in my situation.

I then used a coagulant (flocculant) to catch scale and drop to bottom of pool. Then vacuum to waste.

For me it worked and I have not had scale since. I had problems with scale when I originally changed from a solid cover to a mesh cover. Allowing the ph to remain high without balancing was the problem.

Every winter and early spring I check the ph to make sure it stays balanced. So that I don't have the problem when I open my pool.

I hope this helps. It did for me.

o

Sounds like he is not keeping the alkalinity in check. Too high causes build-up. I am guessing he gives the walls a quick brushing, but doesn't do the flat surfaces.