Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
etbrown4

Newbie needs advice on Pool Chems, Backwashing etc

etbrown4
12 years ago

I'm a novice at this so I hope someone can kindly help with a few basic questions. Have a large gunite pool with sand filter. I've got the pump running and filtering. Shocked the 40,000 gal pool today with 4 lb of Lowes shock. The faint green is now more blueish though cloudy. So far, so good!

1. Our temp here is about 60 and the water temp is likely more like 50. How long does shock usually last and when to I begin regular chlorinating.

2. This is a vacation house and I live 3 hrs away. Is it ok to let a pump run for a week without backwashing (since that's when I will return). I have a large sand filter and it usually runs at about 18psi. If that's too long I'll just have to turn it off until I return next weekend.

3. I'v never backwashed before. About how long do you run it in backwash, and how long rinse? Am I right that when you back wash you open the valve on the pvc waste pipe at the same time? It's a standard multi-port valve on the filter, and I can't recall if it has a separate setting for backwash and a separate setting for waste.

Many thanks. sorry I know so little, though I'll know a lot more after the first time!

Comments (3)

• huskyridor
    12 years ago

1. The shock proably won't last long as your stabiliaer is most likely nil and the materials your oxidizing are high. Since you see blue it's beginning to do its job. I'd suggest shocking again and adding a couple of gallons of muriatic acid at the same time.

2. It's okay to leave it running but it really helps to have a neighbor check your water level and the filter pressure in the middle of the week if you leave on Sunday aftewnoon. If the pressure climbs over 8 to 10 pounds have them turn off the pump. If you turn it off now and leave it till next week you pretty much wasted the time and chemicals you just introduced, a week from now the pool will only show slightly better.