Return to the Pools & Spas Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Are we being taken for a ride?

Posted by hopefulnovice (My Page) on
Tue, Mar 8, 11 at 10:04

Hi all -
Thank you to everyone who posts here - it has been so helpful to read all your stories and advice.

I wonder if you could help me with a "reality check" on our pool estimate. It seemed VERY high to me, but I am new to this and our landscaper swears by this company.

We have an old pool that needs resurfacing & new tile.

We've been quoted just under $15,000 to drain/bond/seal the pool and resurface it with Pebbletec.

Then another $3500 to install the 6 inch tile band on top.

And almost $2000 to install a polaris pool cleaner & pump.

This is just a regular sized (20x30) rectangular pool, no bells and whistles.

Is this reasonable, or have I been pegged as a sucker? And what questions should I be asking to make sure we won't be hit with additional charges as things progress?

Thank you so much for any advice you can give! This is our first time owning a pool.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Are we being taken for a ride?

I'm building a pool (New Pool in St Petersburg FL thread) and the best thing I did was push really, really hard to get four quotes. Now, to get four quotes, I met with 8 different pool companies who sent a rep to my house, got a copy of my survey, went out and tape measured the backyard, talked about options, construction, costs, etc. (Some just dropped out, which is why only 4 quotes out of all that.)
BUT, the best thing was how much I learned about pool construction and the various choices I had. Each person I had a discussion with taught me something, so by the time I was getting the last quote, I was asking the right questions and knowing when I was being "BS-ed".
My pool is pretty big (about 650sf, very rough est) and my tile is $3550 (this includes a $6/sf allowance for tile, plus the installation).