Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
curb1

Changing sand in filter

curb1
14 years ago

Should we get a new filter, or is it possible to change sand in our Hayward S210T filter. The filter/sand has been sitting for a year. We bought house and haven't opened the pool yet. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (40)

• brentr_gw
    14 years ago

curb1, I am not an expert however I understand that sand is good for about 10yrs. (Hope I am correct :) )
    I would open the pool, run the pump and see if it is filtering correctly. Our pressure runs about 18psi on clean sand and we have a S220 pro series Hayward sand filter. Hope this helps.....

• fighting_irish
    14 years ago

It is recommended by most sand filter manufacturers to change the sand every 3 to 5 years. It is true that the sand may last up to 10 years but the sand tends to break down to the point of not filtering properly after about 5 years. Yes you can just change the sand on your filter. I recommend changing the laterals at the same time. Last thing you want to do is change the sand and then find out that you have a busted lateral after you have added the new sand. If you do elect to change the sand try using Zeo Brite sand it will filter finer and last longer also you will not have to use as much of this sand in your filter.

• brentr_gw
    14 years ago

Fighing irish, thank you for correcting me as I am new to this. I will have to remember next 3-5 yrs to use Zeo Brite sand. Do you think my pressure will increase using the finer sand?

• curb1
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you for the comments. We'll see how it goes. The "pool guy" recommended changing the filter (not the sand, but the whole filter) every year. That didn't sound good.

• Rack Etear
    14 years ago

Zeo brite does not last longer than sand. The volume of the zeobrite is the same, its the weight that is different.