Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dearmrsrobinson

Toto vs. Kohler- my experience

Megan
10 years ago

Hi! I am new to actually posting on this forum, so let me know if I am posting in the wrong place. When selecting toilets for our bathroom remodels I spent a lot of time, probably too much, worrying about the right toilet selection. I was coming for builder grade toilets that would clog at the site of an oatmeal packet, so I wanted something that would FLUSH! After much back and forth, I decided to put Kohler Cimmarons in my guest and powder bathrooms, and splurge on the Toto Ultramax (twice the cost) in the Master. After living with them for almost a year I can say that I honestly think the Cimmaron's have the slight advantage. They are all excellent toilets that work well, but of the very few clogs we have had, they have mostly been in the Toto. I do with Kohler made the Cimmaron's with a prettier look, but function was most important for me. I hope that helps anyone else going through what I went through!

Comment (1)

• bpollen
    10 years ago

I will add to your post that I extensively researched low flow toilets about 8 or so years ago, when I had to buy my first low flow toilet. The low flows have much improved since then, I think, but I researched extensively because there were numerous horror stories of all the low flows that didn't work properly.

I did learn from toilet studies (yes, there are toilet flushing studies, if you can believe that), that not all models of a brand are the same.