Return to the Plumbing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
basement bathroom plumbing questions

Posted by kimbhoot (My Page) on
Tue, Dec 11, 12 at 16:17

Hello,

I've never done any plumbing before but generally very handy. I'm finishing my basement slowly and need to get on the plumbing.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XV43N0SKWLc&feature=youtu.be

In this video you'll see the layout and I would like to put a shower and not a tub. Need advise on the plumbing and how the lines and drains should be connected/moved. I plan to take a picture and of the existing layout and draw up what I think needs to be done and would like some guidelines on the proper way to do the plumbing.

would greatly appreciate any input on how I should get the rough in.

Thnaks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: basement bathroom plumbing questions

Uh....

Not that I am trying to be unhelpful... but....

You say you have never done plumbing before but you want written instructions on how to plumb an entire bathroom, and, you want that information from strangers who have only seen a 42 second video?

Seriously, the devil is in the details, and, the details for doing an entire bathroom from zero would be voluminous. If you want to do this yourself, get some books, read up some, educate yourself then come back and ask specific questions about individual aspects of the job, not the ENTIRE job.

Good luck!!

o

I'd hate to break that concrete to reconfigure it. How about leaving it there and going with a linear drain?

On the other hand, you're supposed to have 2" drainpipe (not 1.5") for a shower. That especially comes into play if you're adding extra water volume, like jets, etc.

o

The way that rough-in is set up you can install a watercloset, lav & tub/shower, but if you insist on a stand alone shower you are in for some major concrete work.

o

Thanks for the responses.
Tjdabomb, Thanks for your advise. yes, I've been reading about plumbing and collected several books and have seen numerous videos.