Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gofc_gw

Pinhole leak in copper pipe.

GoFC
10 years ago

I have read several useful postings regarding pinhole leaks in copper pipes but still am a bit confused as to what I should do.

We have well water and copper pipes in our home. We had a pinhole leak on a pipe near our water pump. We are being told that we should install a 2.5cu ft vortech unit and a 48 k grain eliminator water softener with a res up feeder. Don't really understand all the terms but told this system will correct our water imbalances. Since I have no plumbing experience, I was just hoping to get some advice before going forward with this investment (a bit over $5K being quoted).

Our water tests show:
pH - 6.4
Hardness- 6 GPG
Iron- Manganese- Tannins ND
Sulfur ND

Any advice or thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks

Comments (10)

• bus_driver
    10 years ago

Others are better qualified to interpret your water test results. But my take is that most of your copper piping is nearing having pinholes.

• User
    10 years ago

The pressing problem is low pH. Your water is acidic. More than likely that is what is causing your pinhole problem. I agree with bus driver and suspect you are in for more pinhole leaks.

You need an acid neutralizer to raise the pH and that will increase the hardness and a correctly sized softener will treat your (increased) hardness, iron, and manganese.

In order to correctly size a softener we need to know the # of bathrooms, # of people, SFR of the well/plumbing, and are there any water hogging appliances like a jet tub or uber shower? Also need to see a more comprehensive water test. At minimum hardness, iron (ferrous and ferric), manganese, TDS sodium bacteria, nitrates, arsenic, copper

How old are the test results you posted and were the tests done by a certified lab or a water treatment dealer?

Living on a well have you been routinely (at least annually) testing your water for nitrates and bacteria?

• GoFC
    Original Author