Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zver11

sediment filter clogging frequently

zver11
11 years ago

I originally intended to have an aerator followed by an iron filter but decided to make the iron filter first. I installed a spinout particle filter as the water enters the house, originally to protect the aerator nozzles. It is now before the iron filter.

The well produces a surprisingly large amount of fine sediment and some larger particles which clog up the sediment filter. The finer material tends to stick to the screening and be tough to dislodge.

Two questions:
1) Is this level of sediment a problem of itself and if so, what can be done about it?

2) Can I get rid of the sediment filter and allow the backwashable iron filter to take all the sediment?

Comments (9)

• bus_driver
    11 years ago

Perhaps something like this should be considered. It would be installed in the flow stream before any other filters. I have no experience with these and this is not the only maker of these. I do know that the cyclone principle works for dust collectors and fully trust that it works for this application.

Here is a link that might be useful: Cyclone

• zver11
    Original Author
    11 years ago

That choice suffers from the same problem as the spinout filter. While it is larger capacity it operates under the principal that the sediment is heavier than the water. I suspect significant components are too light and do not spin out enough. If I add an additional device, it should be a backwashable sediment media filter. I would rather avoid another tank, particularly if the problem is temporary. I do not know if it is a permanent issue.

One thing I am considering is adding sediment filter media to the iron filter tank, replacing some of the filox. Being much lighter, the new media would stay as layer above the filox. Not sure if there are any other implications of this move.