Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bradleydiggs

well water treatment recommendations

bdiggs
10 years ago

Hello! Thank you in advance for any advice offered and for those who give advice here. I have a project for well water that I am having trouble coming up with the "best" solution. I have never done anything like this before, and have learned enough to be dangerous, but am looking for the best route to take. I apologize in advance for the length of this post.

Here are the positive numbers from the water report:
Mineral mg/L/ppm
Calcium 7.2
Magnesium 4
Iron 0.377
Manganese 0.46
Silica 44.5
Sodium 13
Alkalinity(CaC03) 54
Hardness 34
pH 5.9(pH Units)
Total Dissolved Solids 100
Turbidity 3.2 (NTU)
Acetone 0.02

There does not seem to be any iron related bacteria, however, we have semi-heavy mud sediment directly after heavy rains, and kind of a suspended clay sediment at most times (I think). We have rocky but clay soils, and there is some sticky clay buildup in pipes pre-sediment-filter after long periods of use. We currently have a DGD2501 25-to-1 micron nominal pentek 20'' cartridge filter that removes anything visible for sparkling water, however, the pH problems and other "contaminates" still exist in soluble form. So we now have clean water, but still a little irony, with manganese and some hardness, not to mention the little-bit-low pH. There may or may not be H2S at the well, it might just be an iron smell when the water runs or sits in the tank - but we switched from a bladder tank to a hydropneumatic years ago and it corrected most of the smell (although it still smells pretty metallic? or sulfuric? when it runs, but maybe this is worse when it has had time in the pressure tank (possibly to precipitate?).