Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kellic_gw

Drains not lining up

KelliC
10 years ago

This is my first time doing any plumbing on my own. I replaced one sink already and everything lined up well. This one isn't lining up and it's not reaching. Do I need to completely replace the tailpiece? Is there a way to extend it the 1.5 inches that I need? This is in a bathroom so it has the pop-up connected through the tailpiece.

Thank you!

Comments (10)

• homebound
    10 years ago

Yes, buy a 6" tailpiece to reach the trap. You may need to cut an inch or two off with a hacksaw. It will be evident when you install it.

Pay attention to the different washer thicknesses as you assemble, so that it's water-tight. In fact, take the trap to the store with you, so somebody can walk you through it. You're going from 1 1/4" tailpiece to 1 1/2" trap.

This post was edited by homebound on Sun, Nov 10, 13 at 22:19

• KelliC
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I'll definitely take the trap and the washer with me when I go in again to make sure everything fits. I actually went into HD when I realized this but no one there knew enough to help me out. They recommended that I get a complete new tailpiece, but I wanted to ask here to make sure I was doing the right thing. They weren't much older than I am and seemed to just be guessing.

Should it be flanged at one end between the extension and the p trap? The piece between the wall and the p trap is flanged to hold the washer (?) on. I think I found something that would work on amazon, but I'm sure it would be cheaper at a hardware store.

Here is a link that might be useful: Flanged tailpipe extension

• homebound
    10 years ago

Not flanged. Just to be clear, if you are trying to reach it vertically, you need a 6" tailpiece extension (1 1/4" diameter), plus the thicker washer so it can connect to the 1 1/2" trap (you seem to have that already).

This post was edited by homebound on Mon, Nov 11, 13 at 0:03

• KelliC